Skip to main content

History: Civil War Reconstruction and Jim Crow: Regar Collection

Regar Collection

Regar Collection

The Regar Collection includes 12 Civil War era letters written by James Frederick Allen before, during, and after he became a prisoner of war at Andersonville Prison, the spoon Allen used at Andersonville, the Bible he had in prison, and a number of other family keepsakes. The collection also includes 200 family photos. The collection was donated by James Frederick Allen’s direct descendants Donald Allen Regar and his four children, Donald Allen Regar, Jr., Alison Regar Betancor, Allen William Regar, and Adam Frederick Regar.

Go to the Regar Collection homepage.  In the search window, type in the word letter to look at digitized images.

 


 

Three Civil War Letters, June 21, September 2, 1861; March 20, 1862, . To ‘Brother’ (George H. Standish) from Amos S. Standish.

Go to the Archives homepage

Click on "Memorabilia"

In the search window, type Standish letters to look at digitized images of the 3 letters:

Memorabilia 2201

Memorabilia 2202         

Memorabilia 2203       

About the Collection

regar

About this collection

The Regar Collection was donated to the Stetson University Library in 2008 by Donald Allen Regar and his four children, Donald Allen Regar Jr., Alison Regar Betancor, Allen William Regar, and Adam Fredrick Regar.

The Regar family members are direct descendants of the Allen family that had strong ties to early DeLand. Donald Regar's great grandparents, James Fredrick "Fred" Allen and his wife Calista Doble Allen, arrived in DeLand in 1875 after Fred had served in the Civil War in 1864-1865.

They built a house at 516 N. Woodland Boulevard across the street from what would become the DeLand Academy (later Stetson University). The home now houses the University's Office of Human Resources. They watched as construction began on the first campus building, DeLand Hall, and Fred promised the builders he would furnish the school with "some scholars."

Fred kept his promise; four of his surviving children attended Stetson. One daughter, Mabel Allen, was in attendance in 1886, shortly after the Academy (the equivalent of a high school) and the University opened for business.

Another daughter, Fannie Norton Allen, also attended the Academy, graduating in 1902, and then taking elective courses in the College in 1904. She later married William John Regar of Tampa and they had a son, Jeffred Allen Regar, who is donor Donald Regar's father. Although Donald and his children did not attend Stetson, they considered the alma mater of four of their DeLand ancestors to be a fitting home for their great, great grandparents' treasures.

James Fredrick Allen served in the military during the Civil War. He was first stationed at Camp Randall, Wisconsin early in 1864, but just a few months later he was taken prisoner and sent to Libby Prison in Richmond, Virginia. He was then transferred to the notorious Andersonville Prison in Georgia from which he was released in mid-1865. The collection includes 13 Civil War era letters written by James Frederick Allen before, during, and after he became a prisoner of war at Andersonville, the spoon Allen used at Andersonville, and the Bible he had in prison.

The collection also includes more than 200 family photos.